Classical Music on Youtube

May 15, 2007

Blogging live from the departure lounge at the airport where I am to start my latest round of travels, I thought I would leave my loyal readers some things to entertain themselves while I’m on the road. Well, it turns out that one can watch a bunch of classical music performances free on Youtube. Here are some that I stumbled across in the last few days and found in accordance with my taste (heavily weighted towards the German baroque)

Flammende Rose, from the Nine German Arias by Handel, sung by a countertenor and accompanied on period instruments.

A playlist mainly composed of Misha Maisky playing the Bach Cello suites. Good to put on as background music while typing.

Another playlist with a very generous selection of Bach choral music by different performers.

Readers are invited submit their own favorite Youtube videos of classical music performances in “comments”

stumble upon icon

Leave a Reply

